“If everyone else jumped off a bridge, would you?”

I’d look beyond the edge with careful eye

I’d ponder over distance, speed, and say,

“‘Tis dangerous, so much could go awry.

“The physics are against you every way.”

 

You see those safe and placid waters ‘neath

The silver construct tempting in it’s height

But why? When jagged rocks that look like teeth

Hide there, with hungry fish that eye your plight.

 

A fear comes over me with chilly hand

I am alone, they all are falling free

They’ve gone, and now I think I understand

What prompted them to jump and not foresee.

 

Forgive me, friends, as I approach the ledge

The last I think is of a steely dredge.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

